St. Lucie County DUI Lawyer
St. Lucie County DUI Attorney St. Lucie DUI Attorney Law Firm Profile Common Criminal Defense Questions Free Case Evaluation Contact Us






DUI Overview
2nd Offense DUI
Felony DUI
Blood Alcohol Content
Blood / Breath Tests
Field Sobriety Tests
DUI & Drugs
Spring Break DUI
Out-of-State DUI
DUI Accident
DUI Penalties
Insurance Penalties
License Suspension
Driver's License 10 Day Rule
St.Lucie County DUI




Florida DUI Penalties

In the state of Florida when a person is convicted of driving under the influence they face very harsh DUI penalties. In addition, if a person is convicted of a multiple DUI offense, if a child or minor is present in a motor vehicle during an arrest, or if a person is severely injured or killed a defendant can face additional enhancement penalties. A person may also receive a “Strike” under Florida’s “Three Strikes Law” for felony DUI and face a lifetime of punishment.

[ Click here to view Florida's DUI Penalties chart ]

The following is a list of DUI penalties in the state of Florida:

Facing a DUI Offense?

1st DUI Offense:

  • Misdemeanor
  • Up to 6 Months Jail Sentence or more if BAC was higher than 0.02% or minor(s) was present
  • Up to $1,000 in Fines (depending on BAC level and if minor(s) was present
  • 6 Months to 1 Year Driver’s License Suspension
  • Up to 1 Year Probation
  • 10 Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • Installation of Interlock Device in Motor Vehicle for Up to 6 Months If BAC over 0.20%
  • DUI School
  • Insurance Penalties
  • Mandatory 50 Hours Community Service
  • Possible Deportation if Non-U.S. Citizen
  • Permanent Mark on Criminal Record

2nd DUI Offense (within 5 years):

  • Misdemeanor
  • Up to 1 Year Jail Sentence or more if BAC was higher than 0.02% or minor(s) was present
  • Up to $2,000 in Fines (depending on BAC level and if minor(s) was present)
  • 5 Year Minimum Driver’s License Suspension
  • Up to 1 Year Probation
  • 30 Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • Installation of Interlock Device in Motor Vehicle for Up to 2 Years If BAC over 0.20%
  • Mandatory DUI School
  • Insurance Penalties
  • Mandatory 50 Hours Community Service
  • Possible Deportation if Non-U.S. Citizen
  • Permanent Mark on Criminal Record

3rd DUI Offense (within 10 years):

  • Felony Offense
  • Up to 5 Years Jail or Prison Sentence/more if BAC higher than 0.02% or minor(s) was present
  • Up to $5,000 in Fines (depending on BAC level and if minor(s) was present
  • Up to 10 Years Driver’s License Suspension
  • Up to 5 Years Probation
  • 90 Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • Installation of Interlock Device in Motor Vehicle for Up to 2 Years If BAC over 0.20%
  • Mandatory DUI School
  • Insurance Penalties
  • Mandatory 50 Hours Community Service
  • Possible Deportation if Non-U.S. Citizen
  • Permanent Mark on Criminal Record

4th DUI Offense (within 10 years):

  • Felony Offense
  • Up to 5 Years Jail or Prison Sentence/more if BAC higher than 0.02% or minor(s) was present
  • Up to $5,000 in Fines (depending on BAC level and if minor(s) was present
  • Permanent Driver’s License Suspension/Revocation
  • Up to 5 Years Probation
  • 90 Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • Installation of Interlock Device in Motor Vehicle for Up to 2 Years If BAC over 0.20%
  • Mandatory DUI School
  • Insurance Penalties
  • Mandatory 50 Hours Community Service
  • Possible Deportation if Non-U.S. Citizen
  • Permanent Mark on Criminal Record

Aggressive DUI Defense Lawyer in St. Lucie and Port St. Lucie

Please contact David Golden, P.A. immediately if you or a loved one has been charged with DUI in St. Lucie and Port St. Lucie, Florida. We offer a strong legal defense and excellent skill to clients during both the DHSMV (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle) and criminal court process. St. Lucie DUI attorney David Golden will make every attempt to have charges lowered or dismissed whenever possible.

Need a DUI penalties lawyer in St. Lucie or Port St. Lucie? Contact us today!

David Golden, P.A. - Port St. Lucie DUI Attorney
Located at 903 SE Central Parkway, Stuart, FL 34994.
Phone: (800) 483-0998.
Local: (772) 220-4400.
Website: .